Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 things you probably didn’t know about the Federated States of Micronesia

1, The Federated States of Micronesia is made up of four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae.

2, Micronesia is made up of 607 different islands, spreading over 1,700 miles.

3, Despite spreading across more than 1,000,000 square miles, the islands themselves only have 270 square miles of land.

4, The population of Micronesia is only 108,105

5, English is the official language of the Federated States, but each state has its own language: Trukese, Pohnpeian, Yapese, Kosraean.

6, The islands of Yap is home to more than 6,500 Rai Stones large limestone discs, some as large as wagon wheels, with a hole carved in the middle. They are thought to be a form of ancient currency.

7, Many natives of Pohnpei exhibit an extreme form of colour blindness known as maskun.

8, The Federated States of Micronesia formed their own constitution in 1979. Prior to this, they had been a United Nations Trust Territory under U.S. administration.

9, Their currency is the US dollar.

10, Over the last 10 years, there has been on average 38 people in prison at a time.